Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. The opposite of halal is haraam, which means unlawful or prohibited. Whilst the term is used in relation to many aspects of life, when specifically used in relationship to food, halal refers to any food product that is not prohibited. In reference to meat products, halal means that the animal was slaughtered according to Islamic guidelines, which includes reciting Allah’s name over the animal before slaughter and draining all the blood from the animal. This practice is similar to the guidelines set by Jewish law that classify meat prepared in this manner as kosher. It is common to find halal butcher shops or restaurants in most major cities of the world.
Muslims do not drink alcoholic beverages and other intoxicants such as drugs, because the Qur’an forbids the practice.
Muslims do not eat pork, because the Qur’an forbids the practice, a dietary restriction also followed by observant Jews.
The Islamic faith has a complete system for classifying permissibility of food, beverages, diet and actions.